top of page
Search

Great Read

Firefly Lane

By Kristin Hannah

When I learn there is a Netflix show coming out based off a book I might like, I must read the book first! I really enjoy reading the book and then seeing the differences between the show and story. Sometimes it can really frustrate me, like if they leave out a really good part of the book, but most of the time it’s fun!

So, when I found out that Firefly Lane was based off a book, straight to the Pines library app I went. I won't lie... it took me some time to get into the book. It starts off in the 70's, which I am not a 70's baby so it was a bit of a struggle. But I am really glad that I stuck with it and read the whole book. The ending was something I never saw coming!

Firefly Lane spans across more than 3 decades and is all about the powerful story of two girls who grow into women and the friendship that they have through those decades. Kate Mularkey is an 8th grader who feels as though she is the most uncool girl in her grade. She has a regular family- stay at home mom, working dad, and a younger brother. Kate knows that she must do good in school, go to college, get married and have kids one day. Until.... the coolest girl in 8th grade moves across the street.......

Tully Hart seems to have everything Kate doesn't...beauty, brains, ambition, and a completely different life than Kate. Kate and Tully are complete opposites. Kate is uncool, isn't allowed to wear make-up, has 2 parents that love her, she has a bedtime. Whereas Tully is so cool, can wear whatever she wants, has no bedtime, and has a mother who doesn't really care what she does. And of course, Kate thinks Tully's life is the best and Tully couldn't want Kates life more!

But Tully has a secret that is eating her up and by the end of the summer of '74 they have made a pack to be friends forever....TullyandKate.

You must read this book to watch this 30-year friendship unfold. They weather so much as friends- jealousy, anger, hurt, love and resentment. You must read to till the very end to see if their friendship can withstand the hardest test of all.

This book will make you laugh, cry, smile, and most of all you won't want to put it down. It is a story that you will never forget and make you want to tell your best friend all about it!

I hope you enjoy FireFly Lane as much as I did. Oh... there is also a sequel, Fly Away!

KT




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page